Skip to main content
chitta201918
Rising Star
August 21, 2026
Question

Disabled Users Not Removed From Local Group

  • August 21, 2026
  • 2 replies
  • 62 views

Hello Beekeepers community!!!

We currently add Active Directory (AD) users to local BT Group security groups for access management. However, we have identified a concern regarding user lifecycle management and audit compliance.

At present, when a user account is disabled or becomes inactive in Active Directory, the user is not automatically removed from the local group(s) to which access was previously granted. As a result, the group membership does not accurately reflect the list of active users.

For example:

  • Local group: BT-PAM-ACCESS
  • Total members displayed: 10 users
  • Actual active users: 8 users
  • Disabled users in AD: 2 users

Even though the 2 users are disabled in Active Directory, they continue to appear as members of the local group. During audits, we provide screenshots of the local group membership as evidence of access reviews. This results in audit evidence showing all 10 users, which can be misleading because it includes accounts that are no longer active.

Concern: The current process does not automatically synchronize group membership with the Active Directory account status, creating a risk of inaccurate audit evidence and potential compliance concerns.

Requirement: We would like to implement an automated solution that removes users from local access groups when their corresponding Active Directory accounts are disabled or inactive. This would ensure:

  • Accurate group membership records.
  • Improved access governance and compliance.
  • Reliable audit evidence.
  • Reduced manual effort in access reviews.

Could anyone please advise on the best approach to achieve this automation?

2 replies

tclowater
BeyondTrust Employee
BeyondTrust Employee
August 21, 2026

Hey ​@chitta201918  - because the local group doesn’t have any syncing to the directory, this would be something where a “manual” process would live to ensure the actions are as desired. Manual in air-quotes as this is something that could be remediated by automation using the API and a custom process.

During the account lifecycle, the following API items may be of use to determining where the user belongs, and the groups to be removed:

Get user groups for user

Remove user from user group

GloriaB
BeyondTrust Employee
BeyondTrust Employee
October 2, 2026

When user accounts are disabled or deleted from AD, the user can no longer log in to the BI Console. It is recommended to quarantine the AD account in Web console User Management.  

For instructions, refer to marking a local user inactive or quarantining an AD user sections.

Schedule a group sync so that the users show as disabled in Password Safe.  How to sync Active Directory groups on a schedule and how to turn off scheduled group sync per group.

 

If you are doing a directory query to onboard, I would suggest doing an advanced filter and exclude disabled users:  

Include all users except for disabled users

(&(sAMAccountName=*)(!UserAccountControl:1.2.840.113556.1.4.803:=2))

 

For more information, refer to Directory Queries for Password Safe - How to use the advanced filter - How to exclude objects.